Acknowledgement of Country

Mona Foma acknowledges Tasmanian Aborigines as the traditional owners of this island lutruwita (Tasmania). This festival takes place on country where at least six original tribes converged. The Litarimirina and Panina from Port Dalrymple and Norfolk Plains; the Tayarinutipana, Rrulinamirimina and Mawimirina from Stoney Creek and the North Midlands; and the Plintamirimina of Ben Lomond all came together here in the same way as the three rivers—laykila (North Esk), plipatumila (South Esk) and kanamaluka (Tamar)—still meet in the heart of today’s Launceston.

As we meet here on their lands, we honour those old people, the Tasmanian Aboriginal community of today, and Elders.

Names of tribes and places in palawa kani, the language of Tasmanian Aborigines, are used with approval of the Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre.